Aswad – You’re No Good


Release Date: Feb 95
Chart Position: 35

Jonny
Aswad; You’re No Good. I wouldn’t go that far mate! Shine was good, this was so-so. But maybe he’s singing about Ace of Base?
“you’re no good, you’re no good, you’re no good…..your swedish p****s”
But unfortunately I doubt it. There should be more band/artist rivalry and sledging of each other within in lyrics. Negwars! That would be smart!
This would sit somewhere between Shine and the strange and confusing Warriors effort, although I think that the charts would suggest otherwise as this only got to no 35. Its almost the same track as Shine isn’t it? The intro is anyway and when I loaded it up thought I was listening to the wrong track. The first 30 secs is almost identical, the echoey vocals, the synthetic backbeat, the soft horn section, we’ve heard it all before. I appreciate that you should play to your strengths, but this is a little lazy and too formulaic.

Step 1 –
Take previous hit
Step 2 – Remove lyrics
Step 3 – Overlay new lyrics
Step 4 – Light bifter

I doubt Aswad would appreciate it if every review I did I simply copy and pasted a previous effort and just changed a few of the words without giving it my full attention and the dilligence that it deserves? Actually… lets not mention that, forget I said anything.
I like Aswad and they’ve delivered some classics, but this is not one of them. The video again is just following the blueprint of fun in the sun with hot girls looking good and acting as if they like the noys. That only works if you back it up with a good tune, or maybe the video is actually from another track as well? That would surely make this then the laziest offering we have ever reviewed?
Score: a 4/10 from me.Aswad+-+You're+No+Good+-+12-+RECORD_MAXI+SINGLE-195751

Norm
Aswad – You’re no good.
That could be my entire review. I’ll humour our audience with a few lines of fluff about this dreadful effort by one of my favourite bands and then I’ll get back to not listening to this and trying to delete it from my memory banks.
This one starts off slow with some standard Aswad beats, horns and strings. It doesn’t pick up pace, no rap or break with our young chap that lit up Shine, just 3 minutes or so of “You’re no good” repeated over and over again. The video is boring too; it lacks a lot. In fact I’m not even sure what it’s missing as I think I nodded off after 90 seconds.
Time to move on. A shame that after being  treated to a couple of good weeks on the blog we now have this mediocore effort.
Score: An uninspiring 3/10. Here’s a picture of Homer Simpson negging out to cheer us all up…1371447_10152243544073776_240217145_n

Gouldy
After the mighty neggae call to arms that was ‘Warriors’ Brinsley and the boys followed up with their take on the much covered ‘You’re no good’. Originally a hit for Betty Everett it was revived and made famous by Linda Ronstadt, however the version I was most familiar with was by the Swinging Blue Jeans as it sound tracked many a 2 day drive across France and Spain (followed by ‘Hippy Hippy Shakes’ on my Dad’s C90 I believe) as I was sat in the back seat with my two younger sisters, losing layers of skin as the faux leather interior didn’t stand up to the rigours of blazing Continental sun. That’s enough of my misty eyed recollections of getting third degree burns whilst listening to Genesis and Simple Minds and on with the review.
It starts with Brinsley’s slowed down almost choral singing of the chorus then the neg kicks in, well sort of, the beat reminds me of this rather than straight up neg but the horns add a layer of sun kissed authenticity to proceedings. As the song progresses there’s no real change up a sort of electronic didgeridoo sound’s introduced which is like Daft Punk covering ‘Sun Arise’ (do not click on this link if you’re easily offended by pedalos) but is hardly exciting. The vocals aren’t great and sound like they’ve been tampered with which is a bit unnecessary, these boys did ‘Beauty’s only skin deep’ they don’t need studio tampering. Lyrically there’s not a great deal going on but this isn’t the Azzas fault as the original could hardly be described as a wordy tome, a harsher person than me might say this is the lyrical equivalent of a Helen Keller tweet. The gist is they had a decent sort then much like Eve in the Garden of Eden were tempted away by forbidden fruit and it didn’t work out as they soon discover the pootang’s not always greener just because there’s a slagtag involved. They then ponder asking forgiveness but realise that the whole ‘no good’ thing could be flipmoded back onto them as they’ve basically broken someone’s heart because they’ve been blinded by the ability to suck a golf ball through a hosepipe. Thems the breaks lads, sometimes you have to take responsibility for your shoddy actions and take it on the chin, much like the brazen temptress of the piece did. I had a nagging feeling I’d heard this version before and then it dawned on me, that wasn’t the case, it just sounds like Boney bleeding M, and not one of their good’uns. Boney M with dreadlocks, pretty sure that’s been done before. They’re also lacking a guest rap about sporting stars which seems a golden opportunity missed with the chorus to berate people like Tom McKean who never really shone at the top level, Zeb must have been pissed off.
The video was clearly shot in the same weekend break that they did the ‘Warriors’ video which represents good business sense but loses points for originality which is a charge that could be laid on the whole video.

Neggae video checklist

  • Swimming Pool;
  • Scantily clad, unattainable women;
  • Sunshine;
  • Berking about with horns.

We’ve nearly got a full house here.
Although it’s nice to see Juan Pablo Sorin (the only Argentinean footballer named after a brand of Malt Loaf) popping up on 50 seconds.
Score: Although this may well be the only entry in the top 90 where the song title also acts as an introspective review of the song I can’t give it any higher than 4/10.

Keith De Vivre
In a probable first for the Neggae Hot 90, this may well be the only time a neg tune has been reviewed from the magnificent country of Bangladesh.
I’ve asked around a bit with the locals about whether the neg movement ever hit the subcontinent back in the day… Unfortunately, as I was met with blank faces, this survey yielded inconclusive results. But I’d be surprised if it didn’t. The shit was global. After two days here, I’ve noticed that the Bangladeshi people walk with a kind of swagger that could only be borne of a background of neg. What with the locals’ natural gait and the Ace of Base bangin’ out over a breakfast curry, it’s telling me the place was riddled with the neg circa 92-94. But to the job in hand… It’s Aswad.
Ah Aswad. Faithful Aswad.
You really can’t go wrong with Aswad can you? Everybody likes Aswad, even if it’s just to say their name. Aswad.

I’m going to have to keep this short and sweet before the sleeping tabs kick in:

  • For me, as a Neggae novice, they’re the epitome of the genre.
  • Dreads and hats look great.
  • You can’t go wrong with a synchronised horn section.
  • Bikini-clad women getting out of a pool in slo-mo is a cheap trick that delivers every time.
  • Was every neg tune a cover?
  • Getting on – and staying on – an inflatable swimming pool chair whilst staying bone dry is an art that deserves a point in itself.

That’s it.
It’s no Shine, but it’s Aswad. Solid stuff.
I’m going to bed.
Score: 6.5/10

 Vince
In the 90s you see, the way it worked was like this:

Record company type: How d’you get on lads?
Aswad: Yeah we did OK, charted at Number 17. Went on TOTP and shit. All good?
Record company type: Marvellous! Here’s another 10k. Well done!
*rubs head, pats bum (a la Norm and the little Chinese barman in Weatherspoons).

And that’s how it was – bundles of cash to spunk on exotic videos and tours, which is what Aswad did.
After Shine and Warriors, Aswad enjoyed their spoils, and rather pointlessly covered this 60s standard. You’ll forgive my lack of enthusiasm, but I cannot stand the original record. From the age of 5 or 6, both Jamie and I were subjected to 60 megamix” double cassette volumes 1 and 2 in our Dad’s Datsun Sunny. A hellish, Jive Bunny style cut-and-shut affair – it was a who’s who’s of affordable also-rans of 60s music.. The Beatles, Stones, Kinks, Who, Motown and Stax artists – none of these were present because Telstar or K-Tel or Dino couldnt afford them.

You’re No Good was on there. Oh Yes. I must have heard “you’re no good” about 87 times in my life on a sh*t car stereo basically.  And at no time has it improved my life. I’m assuming it’s by some Merseybeat knock-off mob like everything that ever came out of Liverpool 63-65. Probably Gerry & the Dakotas. Or Billy J Cilla or whatever.
It sounds Beatlish but its not. I’m struggling to think of any stellar-superduper-amazing music that’s ever come out of Liverpool apart from the Beatles to be honest. Usually I look this sort of stuff up but its such a drainer I honestly cant be f*cked.
I don’t know who at Aswad HQ decided it was a good idea to give YNG the Ibeefa treatment, but whoever he (or she) was, deserves a pat on the back for being the laziest person in the history of Neggae. Cleary on a roll at this point, they spunked the cash on a decent video and covered an old standard with a few acidy squelches and horns.
Score: 2/10. Must try harder.

NEGGAE SCORE: 3.9

2 thoughts on “Aswad – You’re No Good

Leave a Reply

